

Legislative Study Group on Educator Licensure Minutes

Thursday, September 29, 2016 9:00 a.m. Room 1200 – Minnesota Senate Building

Members Present:

Co-Chair: Senator Charles Wiger

Co-Chair: Representative Sondra Erickson

Representative Drew Christensen

Senator Greg Clausen
Senator Kevin Dahle
Senator Gary Dahms
Representative Jim Davnie
Senator Karin Housley
Representative Jenifer Loon
Senator Eric Pratt
Representative Barb Yarusso

Members Excused:

Representative Carlos Mariani

Call to Order by Sen. Wiger at 9:08 a.m.

Motion to approve Minutes of the August 23rd Meeting made by Rep. Erickson. **Motion prevails.**

Discussion of governance and tiered licensure proposals:

- ➤ House GOP Draft Tiered Licensure
 Agency Licensing with Professional Educator Boards
- ➤ Senate GOP Board of Teaching Reforms
- Senate DFL Senate DFL Proposal on Tiered Licensure Framework Senate DFL Educator Licensure Governance Proposal

Stakeholders that provided testimony on proposals:

- Jim Barnhill, Board of Teaching
- Roger Aronson, Elementary School Principals' Association
- Valerie Dosland, Board of School Administrators
- Jim Grabowski, Board of Teaching
- Cyndy Crist, Minnesota Association of Colleges for Teacher Education
- David Aron, Education Minnesota
- Joshua Crosson, MinnCAN

and

• Rick Heller

Stakeholders that provided testimony on governance:

- Jim Barnhill, Board of Teaching
- Troy Haugen, CTE Licensure Task Force
- Jim Bartholomew, Minnesota Business Partnership
- Jim Grabowski, Board of Teaching
- Denise Dittrich, Minnesota School Boards Association
- Cyndy Crist, Minnesota Association of Colleges for Teacher Education
- David Aron, Education Minnesota
- Daniel Smith, Retired Educator and
- Rick Heller

The meeting was adjourned at 11:54 a.m.